## Lee C. Vermeulen, BSPharm, MS, FCCP, FFIP

Chief Efficiency Officer UK HealthCare Professor of Medicine and Pharmacy University of Kentucky Lexington, Kentucky

Office 859-323-4974 Mobile 608-239-4394 Email lee.vermeulen@uky.edu



## Biographical Sketch

Lee C. Vermeulen, BSPharm, MS, FCCP, FFIP is Chief Efficiency Officer for UK HealthCare, the University of Kentucky health system. In his executive role, he is responsible for the development and oversight of enterprise-wide efforts to reduce unnecessary care variation under consistent, evidence-based standards, thus achieving measurable improvements in quality and patient outcomes, and reducing cost. Vermeulen leads various programs, including UK Advancing BEST Care program, which crosses medical and surgical disciplines, settings of care and operational units in a value-based, patient-centered model. He is also Professor of Medicine and Pharmacy at the University of Kentucky. His academic work focuses on the development and implementation of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and clinical decision support tools that drive the efficient delivery of high-quality health care. Vermeulen is an active health services researcher with over 80 peer-reviewed publications, with an emphasis on cost, value and forecasting emerging trends in health care. He has assisted multiple organizations and associations with facilitation of strategic, tactical and financial planning efforts, including ASHP and the Cleveland Clinic. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from the University of Buffalo, and a Masters in pharmacy administration from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He completed residency training in pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration at the UW Hospital and Clinics, and served a fellowship in medical technology assessment at the University Healthsystem Consortium (now Vizient). Vermeulen has been awarded Fellowship in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) and the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP). He is the recipient of multiple awards, including Pharmacist of the Year from the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin, the Winston J. Durant Lecture Award from the University of Wisconsin, the Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award from the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and the Donald E. Francke Medal from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.